Should they still be sharing an enclosure with behaviour like this? Pls help!

Jessle

Location (City and/or State)
UK
Hi - I have recently been staying with a friend who has two Mediterranean Spur-thighed tortoises. They are both male, both in the the same enclosure and one (Timmy) is smaller than the other (Frank). I am an animal ecology masters student so have been fascinated by their behaviour to one another and have been watching them for 30 minutes over the last few days.

I noticed for the whole 30 minutes whenever Frank went to eat, Timmy (the smaller one) would head butt his shell and bite him until Frank allowed Timmy to mount him. This has happened consistently over the last three days for the whole 30 minute period.

I read a few journals and understand this is fairly standard behaviour from males towards females in a mating period and also in males asserting dominance towards other males. In the latter scenario, I understand once a tortoise is rolled the less dominant tortoise will give the 'winning' tortoise space and usually avoid them.

What I find odd about this scenario is that they have been in the same enclosure for at least the last 30 years so I would have assumed the head butting would have stopped. I have read that the behaviour may continue if there is something wrong with their environment, i.e.:

- they are fighting over food and water (so they need to be fed more)

- incompatible of living in the same space (so they need their own enclosures)

- the enclosure is too small (need their own hutch or larger space)

I spoke to my friend who has looked after them for a few decades but she is confident it is normal behaviour and nothing should change. Has anyone had similar experience? Or have any commentary on what is going on? Or is definitely sure about any changes that should happen to their environment?

Many thanks!!