Small cut on tortoise's neck

Jonathan DeBlasi

Hello, I've had my tortoise, Atlas, for around 2 years now and he's my first tortoise and currently the only one I own. He's never had any sort of injuries or anything in the past so I'm completely new to this. Today while I was giving Atlas a bath, I picked him up to scrub his bottom shell, and he always sticks his neck out when I do this, and I noticed a small red patch on the left side of his neck. I looked closer and it was obvious that it was a small bit of dry blood, I have no idea where he could have gotten this from and it doesn't look very severe. But is there something I should do to it to maybe clean it out? Should I maybe use peroxide or would it be better off healing on it's own?

Jonathan DeBlasi

Update: When I am not home and he wants out of his enclosure he tries to climb the walls, so I have to find a way to stop him from being able to try and climb in the corners of his cage. He was doing this when i got home today, and when I checked his neck the cut had doubled in size.I still don't know how to treat it or if I should just let it be. This is the first time he has had any sort of injury

Jonathan DeBlasi

20150529_151130.jpg Sorry for yet another post, but I managed to take a picture of his neck while he was eating. That's as far back as the cut goes.

Blakem

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
California
Don't be sorry for your posts. I would soak once a day and keep it clean. You could use a Q-tip to put triple antibiotic ointment on it before bedtime.

As for the cause, I'd remove anything that could cut your tortoise. I like to use sight barriers to keep my tortoise from seeing out of the area. They want to get out when they can see out. That, or you have too small of an area.

Jonathan DeBlasi

Don't be sorry for your posts. I would soak once a day and keep it clean. You could use a Q-tip to put triple antibiotic ointment on it before bedtime.