Soon to be tortoise owner!

BlueBaron

Location (City and/or State)
Canada
Hey everyone,

I am going to be getting a 2.5 month old hermann's tortoise mid may and decided to pop onto this forum to make sure everything goes all right. I have owned many reptiles over the years and currently have a sand boa, 5 stenodactylus sthenodactylus, 2 gonatodes, and a leopard gecko. My non reptile family consists of a dog, a cat and a senegal parrot, and I am a full time student living in Canada.

Cheers!

BlueBaron

Canada
Also, this is a pic of the enclosure I have set up. Thoughts? I was going to put damp moss in the back half of the hide house on the warm side (right).

torthome1.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Hello and welcome to the tortoise forum.
Well, you've come here for advice and I'm sure you'll get lots when people see your enclosure.
Sorry, but I think it's much too small and I'm not sure about the substrate or water bowl either.
Have a look at the enclosures form here and check out the Hermann's care section and beginners guides.
I think you've got a bit of reading to do.
Sorry to sound so negative, but you wanted advice and others on this forum are much more knowledgeable than I am, really glad you're here for help and good luck.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!