tegu

Status
Not open for further replies.

latshki

5 Year Member
Well I've wanted a tegu since i found out what they are lol
but I have never been able to find one and have not had a source for rodents and an enclosure
well I have aquired a 6x3x3 tank and have a source for food
but now I need the actual tegu

I am wondering if you can point me in the right direction for getting a tegu in canada

also any advise from owners (Tom) would be great
thanks

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Oh jeez. Where to begin? I've only raised a handful of them, so I'm no expert. I've been around a few dozen over the years and studied them as much as I can, but I don't feel like I know that much about them yet. Here's my experience: I like to start with springtime hatchlings and hibernate them every year, including their first. So, if you get one in August, it should be putting itself down by Sept/Oct. Then you won't see it for 5 months or so. I hibernate them indoors around 50-55F. Hibernation is a whole process and a whole book could be written about just that. They will likely die, if you try to hibernate them outdoors in most of the country for a variety of reasons. Even in the warm areas. When they wake up, they are ravenous (after a couple weeks of waking up) and they grow in leaps and bounds before the next hibernation. When they come out of their 4th hibernation is when they start breeding and laying eggs. They build a nest and defend it viciously, so be careful.