Tortoise lotions?

Bobbutler3

Location (City and/or State)
Florida
Hello
This is my first attempt at posting a question!
I know an expert tortoise guy in south Florida that recommends Scarlet oil and/or Mineral oil once a month for Aldabra’s.
My question is: has anyone thought to use “Skin so Soft”??
I’ve used it in the past to keep mosquitoes away from horses and thought it might have the same benefits for tortoise. I have 2 Sulcatas (5 years old) and 4 Aldabras (1 year) old.
BB
PS new to this forum

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Welcome to the forum! Maybe someone else can help you with the skin so soft.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, Bob! When I had horses I also used Avon's Skin So Soft for it's bug repelling properties, but I hated the strong perfumy scent. I'd hesitate to use it on tortoises because they absorb through their skin. What benefits to the tortoise are you expecting by oiling them?

Reactions: Ink

Bobbutler3

Florida
Welcome to the Forum, Bob! When I had horses I also used Avon's Skin So Soft for it's bug repelling properties, but I hated the strong perfumy scent. I'd hesitate to use it on tortoises because they absorb through their skin. What benefits to the tortoise are you expecting by oiling them?
Repel mosquitoes. I know that might be a debate but in Florida I’ve found my sulcatas covered by them. According to a couple different tortoise experts here in Florida mosquitoes can get blood from between the scutes. So, I would never lather them up for no reason, which is why I’m asking if anyone else uses it. I feel natural is best - but they’re no longer wild

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA