tortoise not growing

kcanales1

Hi, sorry I'm new with this app.
I just have a question about my baby leopard tortoise.
The problem is that I don't see that is growing since I got it.
Which is like 8 months ago.
I weigh her/him and it only weights 20g.
And the man told me that they were 2 months old already.
The baby eats and all that but is not growing.
Please help me figure out what is wrong with my leopard tortoise!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
It takes a whole lot more than food to make a baby tortoise grow. Humidity, exercise, UVB, the correct heat/temperature, food...they all play a big part.

Take a picture of your tortoise's habitat and give us a bit of info about your equipment and diet, and maybe we'll see something that needs addressing.

kcanales1

ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1452390251.884697.jpg
Right now he/she doesn't go outside because is really cold outside. But in the summer he/she spends most of the time outside taking the sun and eating grass and weeds.
Sometimes I go out side and cut weeds for him. I give him wet food but he doesn't really like it. And also, sometimes I give him romaine lettuce.

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
First, change your bedding. The kind you have is hard for them to walk on and doesn't hold humidity well. Try coco coir or repti bark. I can't tell if you have a water dish, they need that.

kcanales1

I soak him everyday.
And sometimes I put a little dish of water since they told me that he didn't need a dish of water if I soak him everyday.
And I have a bag of repti bark so I'll change the other one to this one.
I have him on that one because he also told me to not use wood since the tortoise it was a little baby. But I'll change it to the repti bark.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

I see a few potential problems. I'll just point out what I see.