tortoise on its back

Status
Not open for further replies.

bmorris

5 Year Member
first timer here.. have a baby sulcata. I am a teacher and have him in my room in a wooden box. I came in this morning after the weekend to find him on his back/side. Don't know how long he had been like that. He seems fine..he ate and had a bath but his shell is a bit lopsided now. Will this correct itself? will he be ok? consequently the shell is heavier on one side. eeek

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Bmorris:

Welcome to the forum!!

Now, don't get upset, as I'm NOT picking on you, only offering my opinion and help:

In my opinion, tortoises don't belong in a classroom. They are wild animals (as opposed to domesticated animals) and need to be outside as much as possible. If you want to have him in the classroom during the day when you are at school, that's great, and a wonderful teaching tool, however, when you go home, so should the tortoise. Unless that baby can get some sunshine and some outside time, he's going to turn soft and die.

I would have my tortoise set up at school, then a small cardboard box to carry him back and forth, and then also a tortoise set up at home, hopefully an outdoor set up.

Baby tortoises are a bit soft when they first hatch. If yours is a very young baby, and he was laying on his side all week-end, then its reasonable to see a bit of distortion. He'll smooth out and go back to normal. The worst you have to imagine would be if he were upside down under the light. He would have been dead when you got back to school, in that case.

And if you left him at school all week end, what about his light? Tortoises are cold blooded and need to be able to sit under a light (or the sun) to warm up their body. They won't eat unless they're warm because they can't digest their food.