Umbrella Cockatoo discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pacific NorthWET
Good morning!!

I work at a veterinary hospital and we have a rescue Umbrella who's lived here many years. Long story and I know this is not the right environment for any bird.

He does alot of typical goofy Cockatoo behaviors and I'd love to find people which experience who can "translate". Thanks!!

Sandy in Oregon
Veterinary Technician, 21 years of critter luvin'
Schlomo aka "Mo" the rescue Sulcata, "man without a face"
"Larry" the Golden Greek..adopted
Dexter and Lola (Basenjis...show dogs extraordinare)

No kids, no husband, just critters and I'm happy.
Sent from my iPad using TortForum mobile app

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon
I worked as a bird trainer for a few years..I kept macaws personally but one of my work birds was an umbrella.
Why do you suggest a vet office isn't a good environment? IMO an environment where the bird has lots of company and interaction throughout the majority of the day is a great place!

Sent from my VS840 4G using TortForum mobile app

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Pacific NorthWET
Too stressful, too much commotion, closed on Sunday to finding someone to feed him, etc etc.
He's bald. He needs a solid home, lots of attention to him, not pure chaos of a busy hospital with other scared animals. I'm not a fan of "hospital pets".

Sandy in Oregon

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
Ahh yes. Cockatoos have to be bonded to someone and get attention from that partner. My macaw is bonded to me but does not have the desire like cockatoos. I worked with them years back. I know a great place that has many. But its in TN. Hope you find a local person.

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon
Well then if the office is crazy commotion I see what you mean. And a plucker, too.. Most toos have it rough.