Unhealthy Herman tortoises , please help

HermanRonnie

Ok so ive been keeping Herman tortoises for six years, I have five females ( two seven year olds & three one year olds ) They are housed in & outdoor with correct UB and Basking light. Weed only diet, bathed regularly, fed on a slate have access to cuttle fish and I regularly give them calcium supplement with food. They are all happy tortoises.

I have been looking to buy a male for some time now and contact details were given to me of a man selling both a male and female. The photos I was given they looked perfect. Collected them yesterday, the poor little things... The chap had been keeping them in a viv for five years , fed on a lettuce diet , no access to outside. one male and one female and the male has been hassling her constantly. Their beaks are long , their claws are long also . I am worried about the curling of the shell , especially the males its curled under by his tail and im wondering if that may be causing him distress ? The female is massive compared to mine , I think they have been overfed lettuce. on that note they are very active and have enjoyed soaks in warm water and had a lovely fed on weeds this morning. I have separated them for now to give the female some peace.

I was wondering now they have access to cuttle fish and slate to eat food will their beaks & claws work themselves out , or do I need a vet to cut them ?

also the curling of the shell ?

I have read lots and lots of books and forums but have registered to this site today purely for advice .

The pet shops and garden centres should hang their heads in shame for recommending a vivarium etc this guy had no idea how they should be kept . any advice appreciated

Thank you

Merrick

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
Definitely take both of them to the vet and while your their get their beaks and claws trimmed it is easier with more people also make sure you quarantine both animals for at least two months