Vitashell

JHoward

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia
I was at Petsmart just browsing and came across a product called Vitashell. It says it conditions the shell and skin and was wondering if anyone had ever used it and if it might help pyramiding.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
I would like to see up dated pictures of them tortoises . Tom pics come on pics .

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
JHoward, I am no expert, but I am pretty sure that the Vitashell will not do a single thing to prevent pyramiding since the process of that begins from internal functions and processes. Tortoises need humidity around them to support kidney and growth. Again, not an expert. I myself, use extra virgin organic cold pressed coconut oil, not for shiny pretty but to protect my babies a little bit since EVO-CP (the least refined kind) is anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, anti-viral. I use it one day a week, Sunday, before their warm soak, as a preventative of sorts. I wipe it on my little leopards, wait a few minutes, and then pop them in their warm water. When it was summer, I did wipe it on lightly and then let them graze. I figure they will absorb what they need or barrier what they do not need and it comes off on their travels through the grasses. We had a long discussion about coconut oil on this thread if you want to read more and then research further, for your consideration. http://tortoiseforum.org/thread-81518.html

T33's Torts

5 Year Member
Neverland!
I use it for my russian rescue. He has a very dry shell and was bitten by a dog. This is what the vet recommends

mainey34

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
I use vitashell on all my torts. I mostly use it on redfoots. Here in Arizona it is dry, this helps a great deal. There have been many debates on this product. Its a personal preference. It has helped my redfoots.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal