What species this is?

tortdadruh

Location (City and/or State)
Riyadh
884B4A97-F500-41A5-8D6E-9101CCCA70D6.jpeg

Hi,

Need a little help in identifying this tortoise species. We were looking at a tortoise in a pet shop but the shop keeper was not able to tell us what kind of tortoise this was.

We need to know to estimate how big the tortoise will grow and what to feed it if we buy it.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Bambam1989

East Texas
I am not an expert but I believe it is a Hermanns.
I would be cautious buying a baby tort from a petstore. Especially when it does not know what kind of tort it is selling.
If this tort was started to dry it kept in dry conditions for to long it could have "hatchling failure syndrome" later on.
Take a picture of the enclosure that it is being kept in.

tortdadruh

Riyadh
Thanks for the input. We did not see the enclosure. The staff picked it from some other place and brought it in a carrier for us to see.

How do I check if it has been kept in dry conditions too long ?

I am not an expert but I believe it is a Hermanns.
I would be cautious buying a baby tort from a petstore. Especially when it does not know what kind of tort it is selling.
If this tort was started to dry it kept in dry conditions for to long it could have "hatchling failure syndrome" later on.
Take a picture of the enclosure that it is being kept in.

tortdadruh

Riyadh
Shows how much I know! We took only the top side. Will go back to the pet store this weekend and look.

I am just worried that it might be a sulcata and become a 45KG behemoth.

Can you post a picture of the underside, including the tail, of your tortoise please?

JadaJadaJadsa

Decatur Michigan