What To Do ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NWBLOODLINES

5 Year Member
Hello everybody. I did some horse trading at a local show here in Seattle last Sat. and ended up with a three month old leopard tortoise. I'm pretty sure that I am now going to be a tortoise person from now on as I'm just really hooked. Today we looked at some stool under the mic. and found flagellates and pinworms. What little food this guy does eat seems to pass right through him or her pretty much un-digested . The shell is also a little soft on the sides and underneath so I'm thinking MBD . The thing is that the person who I got the tort from would let me exchange it for another, possibly healthier tort. but I'm kind of attached . Since I'm new to tortoises, I have zero wisdom or perspective on how treatable mbd is for tortoises . For instance, do three month torts have shells that are a little bit soft at all , or should they be rock hard? I have the meds , the right light, and I'm pretty sure I know what to do, but I have no idea what to expect at all and I could really use some advice .

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Cadillac, Michigan
Welcome to the forum!

No, your baby does not have MBD. At 3 months old it is still going to be soft. At a year old, it will still be softer than an adult. It takes time and plenty of calcium and a good MVB bulb and lots of outdoor time for them to harden up properly.

A vet can give you the medicine needed to take care of the parasites. What kind of foods are you feeding? Can you please describe your set-up in detail, including temperatures? If your temps aren't warm enough, they can't digest food properly. A picture is worth 1,000 words, if you can get some pictures of the baby and your enclosure.

Here is a good thread to read. All of the information applies to Leopard tortoises as well.

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-How-To-Raise-Sulcata-Hatchlings-and-Babies#axzz1GTuzTxLN

yagyujubei

5 Year Member
Amish Country