What turtle should I get?

striker

I have been researching turtles the last week. The only ones that really catch my interest a three striped mud turtles and Mata mata's. I only know the basic care of each, but I have few questions because of conflicting information online. First, the three striped mud turtles. Do they need a basking spot? Some places say they won't use it others say its a requirement to have a land area and basking rock. Also, can they live in shallow water or not? Next, the Mata matas. I can only assume these are not begginer turtles by reading the articles I have, and I have zero experience with turtles, so I probably won't even consider them too much longer. Anyway, my question is, isn't it dangerous to feed turtles guppies and goldfish? Because of parasites? I'm sorry if I sound so dumb, but please be aware I'm very new even to researching turtles.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
actually the bigger danger with feeding water turtles goldfish is they use a hormone can make them grow fast. and the matamata turtle is a very hard Turtle to keep in captivity

striker

That's what I figured about Mata matas. Something that looks so awesome couldn't be easy. What about the three striped muds?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
That's what I figured about Mata matas. Something that looks so awesome couldn't be easy. What about the three striped muds?
I've never researched or kept then so I can't comment on the other Turtle sorry.

Sara G.

Long Island, New York
What size area do you have set up for either species?
Since you've never kept turtles before I really wouldn't recommend jumping into a possibly challenging species. I don't know anything about the three striped mud turtles. I have two Red Eared Sliders and have dealt with a Mississippi Map turtle for a short period of time.