Convincing Parents Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RussianSlider4

5 Year Member
So after watching some Youtube videos, I've came to the conclusion that I would LOVE to have a Russian Tortoise! I go on Craigslist and see this one listed about 30 minutes away from me.
http://chambersburg.craigslist.org/for/2587706189.html

The problem is, my mom would be SO against it. I'm a college student living in my parents basement (local university) My GF and I have 1 RES that we have at my girlfriends house and my mom is against me bringing it home. I have a whole basement to myself, my room, the cellar door room, and an extra storage room. How can I convince my mom to allow me to have a tortoise? I would realllllly love to have it.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
Welcome to the Forum :D

Well, as a mother :p I would have your priors to deal with, interests in a ton of other things then loss of interest...is this you? yes/no? If no, then perhaps you can ease into it by showing you have done lots of research on the tortoise species you are wanting, show that you are taking a practical approach...AND be sure this is what you are really wanting to partake in...tortoise do take a bit of tweaking in habitat/diet/lighting costs, etc. Maybe she has concern she will be left to care for the tortoise when you move out?? Just some thoughts :D

I of course know that you can not MAKE someone do what you want, but you can figure away to share your thoughts and desires with your Mum, you know her by now :D

cherylim

5 Year Member
Leyland, UK
Even without being a mother, I have to agree with ascott. There are a lot of costs to consider - can you cover them all as a college student? Do you pay your own rent to justify using the space in her home, and would you be able to find a suitable home when you move out?