design plans for outdoor enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnysd

5 Year Member
hello all,
i'm about to start building an outdoor enclosure for my juvenile sullie. but i am new at this and i have no idea as to how to go about doing this. i've been looking at old threads to get ideas but a lot of these posts have had their pictures deleted.
anyways this is what i'm working with. i have an area of the yard sectioned of its approximately 14'7 x 5'5 almost rectangular in shape.
i need to know if anyone has any old blue prints they used to build their enclosure that they can share with me. or if anyone has or knows of any old threads that describe how to build one of these enclosures step by step. i'm completely lost when it comes to this so the more thorough and descriptive the better....thank you

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
Don't feel bad, I have very little carpentry skills and I just blindly start building and for the most part it turns out okay... Hopefully you get some plans or ideas that will help you...

johnnysd

5 Year Member
Laura said:
look at the Enclosure thread... i just posted pics of our pen we enlarged yesterday..

laura, i was just looking at yours and it looks great. can you give me a more detailed description of how you built it. what type of wood did you use? did you dig a hole and use rebar with cement? or did you just bury some metal poles?

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
we put green board down on the dirt, pound the metal posts down into the dirt, then screwed then to the board, then placed one of the pine 2x12x12 n top of the green board, screwed that, then another on top of that, did that on the three sides.
Took about an hour. No digging, no cement.. we can remove it if nec, to go bigger.
There are a few low spots on the ground, i put dirt over them..
Dont over think it.. it will drive you nuts!

johnnysd

5 Year Member
Laura said: