Drying out time

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Watery Wiltshire in the UK
@ascott did actually raise an interesting point in that thread, and ignoring the arguments of that thread-I have little knowledge of cuora, and would suspect they are species which would not experience this in the wild-, it is something that we haven't covered, as far as I'm aware, as a single, separate topic on here. There have been numerous studies that when tortoises are subjected to constant high(80%+) humidity, the shell becomes much denser and thicker-although again, I would think it would be unlikely to do what happened to the tortoise in the other thread-, as well as softer. My Red Foots have an area of lower humidity with more heat(about 90, and 50-60% humidity) and I do find that they use this after being in the dark, very damp area which maintains pretty much constant 95% humidity. Never tried it with the hingebacks, as they don't really venture out of their forests in the wild. But, for instance @Tom , do you provide an area of lower humidity for your pardalis and sulcatas? I would think it would be beneficial, as yes when young they spend a lot of time below ground, but they will also go upto the surface now and again.
Discuss please with no insults, swearing, etc.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
I like what you have to say but I only have 15yr of time with my torts . And I feel your point needs more looking in to ( further studies ) .

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

G-stars

5 Year Member
Southern California