freeze damage

treefrog010

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
culpeper va
I live in virginia. I have been breeding torts here for over 35 yrs. I built my 9 redfoot breeders an outside 4x8 box that keeps the temp inside 37 degrees above outside temps. This time of year we average 54. Today was 42 for a high. Somehow they managed to break the hold on the 3 inch wide heavy duty velcroI had on the door. I came to home from work to find 7 of them out in the grass most were non responsive. Did not respond to touches to legs or head. Head would actually flop from side to side if tilted. Most were responding better after a warm bath however, the smallest a 8.25 inch dwarf cherryhead male has not come around beyond head movement and front legs he can pull himself with front eggs but can not lift himself up .any body got any idea how to help him further other than taking him to a vet. Only 1 around good with torts and he is 2 hrs away.frank 540 522 7419

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Im thinking that something got to your torts and busted it open vice them breaking out, especially given the cold temps coupled with their lethargic condition. It sounds as if you are doing the right things to warm them up and keep them warm. I dont see what more a vet can do other than recommend what ur already doing. Good luck, keep us posted!

kathyth

10 Year Member!
Beaumont, CA.
I can't think of anything outside of keeping him nice and warm.
What a horrible accident for your babies.
Good luck!!!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You should always warm up a very cold tortoise very slowly. After a few hours of gentle warming you can then put them into warm water.

The thing is, they've cooled down totally, clear into their core. So now it takes a while to get the core back warmed up. Never put them directly under the light or on a heating pad. Just let them warm up gently.