Gamera growth

legan52

Location (City and/or State)
Chicago
Our little guy is five months old and I just measured him at 2 1/4in. Is that a fairly normal size for that age? We've only had him a month now and he seems perfectly active and healthy. He eats plenty and loves his water bowls. I'll try to weigh him soon (moving into a new house and everything is in boxes still!).
How does his shell look to you experts? We keep the humidity at 70% minimum but I spray every day and keep two water bowls. He gets soaks several times a week but sprayed at least once a day as well.
Also, how firm should his shell be at this age? Sometimes it feels like it has too much give, never squishy but like a Tupperware lid. ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1473291475.787194.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1473291495.168318.jpg

Sept 7: 2 1/4in weight ??

Speedy-1

St. David Arizona
I am far from an expert but I can try to answer your questions from my experience . Size is sort of relative at this stage , it is dependent on so many things that I would say if he is healthy and active be happy . He is a sulcata , he will get big ! His shell looks fine from what I can see. I would probably try to get my humidity a bit higher , and try for daily soaks . Make sure he is getting calcium and sunlight or a uv light and his shell will be fine . Hope that helps a little ! :)

BrianWI

5 Year Member
Wisconsin
Mine is now 4 months and 115 grams. The last 2 weeks her growth has slowed a bit. When she was smaller, her shell was like a plastic lid as well. That is normal, especially around the belly area. But mine is now much thinker and harder shelled.

legan52

Chicago
Finally found our kitchen scale and the little guy is weighing in at 39 grams. For five months old that seems tiny!

legan52

Chicago