growth rate???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blgreek08

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Beaver Falls, Pa
I have had my baby redfoots for almost 4 months and it doesn'ti seem like they have grown at all. they still have their egg tooth. at first they always hid and hardly ate. now there hogs and out and about a lot more.

im just concerned because i was told at that stage they would grow pretty fast and it seems like there not growing at all. i did have a shell rot problem from to moist substrate but that is completely cleared up and gone. if anyone can just let me know like a typical growth rate or something that would be great. i just wanna make sure there healthy. i have never done torts before so this is all new to me

theelectraco

5 Year Member
If you're concerned the first thing I would do is buy a scale to track their weights. Sometimes they really are growing but its unnoticeable. I thought my Redfoot wasn't growing at all and I have had it for 6 months, I was sure of it, til I saw a pic of the first week I had it and its grown at least half an inch. Can you give us some details about what you offer them as far as diet goes, and how they are being cared for. Temps, humidity, etc.

The only thing I can think of is perhaps they could have parasites. Perhaps a fecal exam can be done.

0.0.1 Red Foot
0.0.1 Crested Gecko
0.1.0 Dachshund

Blgreek08

5 Year Member
Beaver Falls, Pa
Temps around 75. Humidity is between 65-85 depending on the day. There in coco fiber and Cyprus mulch. I don't have a scale I could get one though. My roommate says they look bigger I just don't see it :-/

Feeding wise. They get spring mix the kind with herbs in it, carrots, Bell peppers, zucchini, squash, and forest tortoise chow stuff. I can't remember the brand name.

Sent from my ADR6400L using TortForum mobile app

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California