Hello and help needed in MN

isshinmark

Hello from the Twin Cities MN. Our family is planning the purchase of our first tortoise, a Russian. Primary care giver will be my 11 year old son with close supervision form me. We have lighting and are planning a tortoise table build in the next couple of weeks. I kept snakes when I was younger than my son until I went to college (the boss said NO to snakes) so I'm not new to herps. I am new to tortoises! We have read all we can find on care, climate, and feeding. My concern is where to purchase our tortoise?

Are there any reputable breeders in the Twin Cities? Is buying online safe from the correct source? Is buying a tortoise at a herp show a good idea? We have one coming up here in a few weeks. :) There are 3 Russians at the local Petco but I am WAY leery of buying there.

Thanks for all the help and advice in advance!

Mark

milkandsam

5 Year Member
I bought my tort from tortoisesupply.com it was my first tort and they were very helpful in making my selection! There also may be forum members who are selling russians... check in the for sale or adoptions page!

Also-welcome to the forum!! People will be extremely helpful! I would suggest posting pics of your lights, etc and getting feedback on your tort enclosure when it's ready!

Again, welcome!!

isshinmark

Thanks Milkandsam. I will post pics once complete. I want to get the basic structure built this weekend so I can experiment with light placement and take readings of temp around the space. My son is very excited to get his tortoise I just want to make sure it is as healthy as can be from the start.

Any thoughts on size of tort for a first timer? Hatchlings are out for sure but should we go with juveniles or adults?

Thanks again,
Mark

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Mark, and welcome to the Forum!