Hello! New Leo mama :) Any tips, advice would be great!

Jhwells46

Hello fellow tortoise lovers! My name is Julia and this is my first time raising a tortoise. I've had many Box turtles and fell in love with tortoises and decided to get myself a baby Leo! Meet Tippy, my one year old Leopard Tortoise. Have had her around 3 months now and she is getting settled nicely into here new home. Got her on Craigslist from a girl who had mostly Red and Yellowfoots and wanted to focus on those more. Her temps are kept between 75-95, as she seems to prefer cooler temps. She gets a soak every morning in nice warm water and is fed following her soak. I keep her guessing on food, mixing in a variety of anything from cactus, aloe and wheatgrass to hay and dark greens. She had been diagnosed with pinworms and the Panacur medication made her sleepy and lost most of her appetite. Vet took her off the meds and she is doing much better, but is a bit of a bed head still. Her table is a 6ft long shoe rack that I turned into a tort table. Her hides are rice steamers that are perfect for maintaining humidity as you can soak them and the bamboo holds the moisture in for a long time. Her hot humid hide is out for cleaning at the moment. I have a mix of hay/aspen substrate on her cool end and a mix of coconut coir and sand on her hot/humid side with about 40% average humidity. She has her own little edible garden with chick and hens, wandering jew, he fescue, aloe, watercress and mallow. She weighs around 100g and seems to be growing well. How am I doin?? Pictures of her and habitat to follow, thanks everyone! ImageUploadedByTortForum1394503333.506834.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1394503351.822554.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1394503393.206342.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1394503413.539689.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1394503461.939798.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1394503537.791447.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)