Help me. (new baby desert tortoises)

PattyAlexis

Hi everyone. I'm new to this. I need help on the set up for my new babies.

image.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:

PattyAlexis

I should of started with an introduction. My name is patty. I live in Yuma AZ. And I recently been taking care of now a 2-3 month and 2 4-5 months. I been told different things about my torts. About what kind how to care and what not.

gg888

Location (City and/or State)
England
I should of started with an introduction. My name is patty. I live in Yuma AZ. And I recently been taking care of now a 2-3 month and 2 4-5 months. I been told different things about my torts. About what kind how to care and what not.
Welcome :) What sort of set up have you got at the minute? VERY cute babies by the way!

RayRay

5 Year Member
central texas
Hi welcome. And for care and an enclosure you should check out the sections for the species of tortoise you have. I can't tell what they are as babies in not experienced.

Agent007

Are those sulcatas? They looked similar to sulacatas. As far as I know(Since I own my tortoise since he was a baby) I do not suggest putting him/her in grassy areas for a long time or like overnight. Since other animals like cats might harm your torts. You might need to buy a tort home or smth like that, some UVB light and a night heater. You can add barks too(Optional) to decrease the risk of pyramiding.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi Patty and welcome to the best site for up to date information about torts.
I'm sure someone more experienced will be along soon to help ID your torts.
When that is done you will be able to find the correct caresheet to see what their
temps, humidity, substrate, diet etc should be.
Meanwhile have a look at the Enclosures section for ideas on what others do.

With 3 torts you are going to need a decent sized space so they have plenty of room.
I don't know what your climate is like but all torts need heat and uvb so you will probably need