Help with tort pricing

Status
Not open for further replies.

cameron740

5 Year Member
Hello, i am new to the tort care but not turtles. I have 3 baby red ear sliders and an adult red ear slider. I wanted to start taking care of tortoises. I need to help on we're to find the best tortoise and a cheap one bcuz i dont have that much money. Any help ASAP!!!! Thanks.

AustinASU

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pensacola, FL
1. Tortoises Aren't Cheap
2. If you can't afford one adopt one
3. Do research for months and ask questions no matter how stupid they may seem to you
4. Be willing to spend money
5. Keep researching....this is a never ending process
6. Buy and build the habitat first correctly with all the amenities, ask people on here if it's setup right....once it's solid....then look for a tortoise (avoid glass tanks)

AustinASU

5 Year Member
Pensacola, FL
there are a few people on here that run adoption agencies.....they should chime in soon

ILoveTortoises2

5 Year Member
Mansfield, Ma
Yeah tortoises are NOT cheap. I would deff do research for awhile before getting on. Just 1 light bulb for them cost almost $50 then you need another bulb like CHE's bulb that is just a little cheaper but not by much then you need lamps, then the enclosure, food, Calcium & Vitamin supplements, soil, ECT so it is NOT cheap at all...... So I would deff look into this before you just buy/adopt one.

peasinapod

5 Year Member
Switzerland
I just read that you have 3 baby red eared sliders and don't have much money. I do not know if you have spare tanks at home, or what you are keeping them in at the moment, but chances are, you will need to buy tanks in the near future and those are expensive.

Do you have enough money to care for the animals you already have?

ILoveTortoises2

5 Year Member
Mansfield, Ma