Hi all, newbie here! :-)

SassiPaws

Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
Hi guys and gal's. I just found this forum while doing some more research. I hope there's a few of you who can give me some advice and/or feedback.
I apologize in advance for the length of my post. I wanted to cover just about everything.

About 1 month ago, I found a western painted, desperately clinging for its little life on my Koi pond filter. We're guessing a bird dropped it flying over. We've decided to keep him/her, so we named it Nugget. Rather than always saying he or she, I'll just use it's name.

I'm including 3 photos, the day I found Nugget, with a dime for size reference.
Then, checking out the basking area. Lastly, the tank setup.

The 1st thing I'm trying to determine is, do I have a hatchling or a yearling? Nugget's shell is now about 2 inches. After 2 weeks, I noticed Nugget was and still is shedding skin and scutes. Now, after a month, I can tell Nugget has grown. You'll notice that in the 2nd pic while on the basking tray compared to the 1st.
I've got a 55 gal tank setup with a proper tower filtration system. I've restricted the tank swimming space until Nugget is bigger, you'll be able to see the plastic barriers in the tank. I wanted to make sure Nugget could find the food. The basking light 60 watt uvb ( just out of view ) is 18 inches above. Also, out of view is a 2nd light, just for lighting and the warmth it gives. I've also placed rocks around the tray so Nugget can't slip in-between the tray and glass.