Hibernation help

Rednwhite1889

Location (City and/or State)
Portsmouth
I have a Hermman Tortoise approximately 7 years old. I took over looking after it from my wife’s sick nan.

This year I have read a lot about hibernation and which methods and build up etc. Approximately a week ago I placed tortoise into a fridge in its box. And have kept the temperature in and around 4-6 degrees.

Today I have opened the box to check on her and her head popped out and looked at me. I was a little surprised. I am quite new to all this. Is this normal, I assumed as she had been down at a cold temperature for just over a week that she would be nicely asleep?!

Any help or advice would be great.

Thanks

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
How certain are you that temperature is staying where you think?

Is this fridge the regular one used by you, because if so it gets warm every time you open the door. You really need a dedicated fridge for hibernation. You also need a digital min/max probe thermometer that lets you know the variation.

In my dedicated fridge, I had a variation of plus/minus 1C in the box with Joe even with opening the door once a day for a few seconds to change air.

Handling a hibernating tortoise should be like handling a house brick - no response. Maybe the legs extending, but no more.

You should have weighed your tortoise before hibernation and weight it monthly throughout. If weight loss approaches 10% the tortoise must be wakened.

In practice, Joe never lost anything close to 5%, let alone 10%, in his 42 hibernations. They shouldn’t if temperatures are correct.

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
A very wear welcome to the forum, @Rednwhite1889 .

Please post pics of your tort and her enclosure so as to enable us to help you more easily.

WithLisa

5 Year Member
Austria
How did you prepare your tortoise?