Humidity, Hides, ?s For Mark and others

Status
Not open for further replies.

Balboa

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
PNW
OK, so I noticed a strange thing about humidity and temperature, and it was almost like they were mutually exclusive, it really takes great efforts to get both up. (part of my great skepticism about cited achievements of others at times). I'm a newb to tort keeping, and had never paid much attention to the science of humidity.

After some research I learned that the relative humidity we measure is a percent of what the air can hold at that temp.

a 20 degree F increase in temps roughly doubles the holding capacity of the air.

water vapor is lighter than air, so the higher the humidity of a given air pocket relative to drier, same temp surrounding air, the more likely it is to rise.

With constant losses then, it can take alot of heat to maintain both high temps and high humidity. (Since a 20 degree increase in air temp will also require twice the water vapor just to maintain relative humidity.) My Brains too tired to really figure out the math, but I'm thinking that's like quadrupling the power requirement of simply raising temps alone.

It makes me wonder how often folks may check an enclosure, see the humidity is down, do a quick spritz, say "there all better", and walk away, and never notice the following temp drop that the evaporation of the water fascilitated was the actual cause of the raised humidity and as temps recover, the enclosure goes back to being parched.

The only real point of all this, is that I've noticed with my humid hides, actual temps inside are friggin cold. Now that I understand the relationships of humidity and temp better, this makes sense. What I'm wondering is if this is the true goal. Do I want 85-90 degrees in a hide with 85-90 humidity, as I had assumed we wanted (by nature of placing the hide at the hot end), or is the 75 degrees and 90 humidity that I actually get the goal?