I'm New and I Need Help

Kristephen

Hi my name is Kristephen.

My mom just got a tortoise for my little brother today. I'm trying to research how to take care of it. Like what kind of bedding to use and what to feed it and how often. But we don't even know what breed it is. We know he's at least 6 years old because the people who owned him before us owned him for 6 years. Could someone please help?

His name is Stephano btw. Yes my little brother named him that because of PewDiePie. XD

Stephano 7-12-15.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Nishikigoi's Torts.

Location (City and/or State)
Texas
Hi welcome to the TFO! And I am by no means a tortoise expert as I am also new to this great forum, all I can tell you is that the bedding your useing is most likely NOT the right choice. Just stick around and hopefully someone more knowlegable than me will come around to help you out.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Kristephen ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1436734821.829336.jpg
I would say it looks to be a Herman but I'm not a 100 % shir . Do we also get to see a pict of the torts enclosure ?

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Looks Greek to me, so it's probably a Hermann's, either way, here is some good advice.
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
The substrate is too thin and too dry, you need to use one that holds humidity like coco coir, orchid bark or cypress mulch.
Please post pictures of the enclosure so we can help make life as good as possible for your brother's beautiful tortoise.

kirsty Johnston

5 Year Member
Scotland
Welcome! He looks like a Greek tortoise to me but the more experienced members would be able to tell you for sure.
Torts eat weeds, flowers and leafy greens. My torts favourites are dandelions, rose petals, clovers, stinging nettles and viola. There is a great website called the tortoise table which tells you what leaves the wee fella can eat - http://m.thetortoisetable.org.uk/m/tortoise_home_1.asp