Intro from Los Angeles

Aaron T

Location (City and/or State)
Casa Grande, AZ
  • Hello everyone! My name is Aaron and I am very happy I found this site. Just recently received a sulcata tortoise, Jericho, and was told he is about 15 years old, he's about 28" long. He stays outside and receives a lot of sunshine, however he does like to come inside the house to spend time around people. I am very new to this but super excited. I just want to ensure I do right by our new family member. I don't have a weight on him yet but he's pretty heavy. I appreciate all the info and tips on these wonderful animals. Only have had him for about a week, but look forward to having a pet for life!

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
salutations
never has a day shine brighter or held more promise then the day you joined this forum. :)

Aaron T

Casa Grande, AZ
Hello and welcome! Down in San Pedro, a warm retreat will be very important. Do you have a heated night box yet? What are you feeding him?

Here are some night box examples:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/another-night-box-thread.88966/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/my-best-night-box-design-yet.66867/
Thank you for the advice matter of fact a heated box is one of my first questions. As of right now I don't have it heated. I took a large rubber maid storage box and covered it with a thick blanket and then a large comforter over and around it, then wrapped 2 plastic tarps to protect it from the wind. At night when he goes in I cover the front of it with the panel but leave enough space for him to get it and out. For feeding, he grazes on our grass and so far I've fed him prickly pear cactus, kale, collard greens, romaine lettuce and bell pepper. Not being sure I sprinkled some calcium over one plate of food so far. I also picked up some Zoo Med tortoise pellets, sprinkled with water and he appeared to really like that as well