Is my female.... NOT a female?!

biochemnerd808

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Central Arkansas (we moved!)
Ok. Let me preface this with the statement that in general, I am quite good at figuring out what sex a tortoise is. Allegra was identified as a female by several very knowledgeable RF keepers. However, today during a soak, our redfoot (6.5 inches SCL, 700+g) flashed something funky out of her tail.

I have been flashed by many a male tortoise, and it never looked like this. I remember hearing of females flashing occasionally.

Here are 2 pics, one of the thing that she flashed, one a few minutes later when everything was back inside. Do we have a boy? Or is she just extra proud of her lady-parts?!

smallDSC_4476.JPGsmallDSC_4478.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
I'm no pro but it looks like a penis to me . But I'm on a cellphone so the picture is small.

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Pacific NorthWET
biochemnerd808 said:
Ok. Let me preface this with the statement that in general, I am quite good at figuring out what sex a tortoise is. Allegra was identified as a female by several very knowledgeable RF keepers. However, today during a soak, our redfoot (6.5 inches SCL, 700+g) flashed something funky out of her tail.

I have been flashed by many a male tortoise, and it never looked like this. I remember hearing of females flashing occasionally.

Here are 2 pics, one of the thing that she flashed, one a few minutes later when everything was back inside. Do we have a boy? Or is she just extra proud of her lady-parts?!

Katie, as we well know I am NO RF expert, but since I have two of questionable "orientation", I've done a gloriously nerdy amount of research on sexing these guys. [GRINNING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]