Keeping males from fighting

HI Tortoise Rescue

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Oahu, Hawaii
We have 2 huge (200+ pound) males that we keep in separate pens, but one of them managed to bulldoze though 6" of wood into the other pen, & this morning, we found them fighting, gular to gular. There are no females nearby, & we're not sure why they're doing this dominance battle. Does anyone have experience in keeping large male Sulcatas together without fighting?

Ken

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
HAHAHA, your funny. I have no experience with sullies. But with all I have learned from this forum and from what has been preached time and time again, two never is a good idea, specially two males. And now specially that they have already fought. Your going to have to beef up their enclosures so they can't break out, or rehome one.

HI Tortoise Rescue

5 Year Member
Oahu, Hawaii
You forget that we run a rescue facility, & all of our rescues become permanent residents. My wife & I were astonished to find two males this large, as the average Sulcata we take in will fit into a plastic postal service box. But when I walked around the corner, & stared at the first one, I told her that we wouldn't need the box. I really thought that a stack of 4"X6" wood boards 3' high & connected to the ground with rebar would serve as a suitable barrier, but it was flattened. Yup, they really are bulldozers with brains!

Ken

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It's a territorial thing. Of course, we don't know who started it, but my guess would be the inhabitant of the broken in to yard, trying to chase the interloper out of his territory. Any chance you can make the other guy's yard somewhere else? Someplace that he can't smell the other tortoise?