lights for RF?

christinaland128

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Metro Detroit
@Tom which bulb would be best for someone who prefers to keep the lights on for 8 to 10 hours? Could I still use the Arcadia HO but use the 6% instead of 12? Or put the UV on a timer but also use a different light source for daylight?

I'm getting new tube lights this spring so I'm curious.

My reds are 6" in length.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I'm fairly new to keeping RF tortoises, but I've read that they don't really like a strong, hot light. So for mine, and for my YF tortoises, when they're confined to the shed because of cold weather, I have their light diffused with plants.

I was given a couple of the tube-type fluorescent UVB bulbs last year and they're great. Provide lots of light. But I think they're a little too bright for RF and YF tortoises. I only use them in the leopard area.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
All I use is a heater on a thermostats . Uvb fixtures on timers . They don't like hot bright lighting .

Pearly

5 Year Member
Central Texas, Austin area
Yes, mine never bask under UVB either. I keep lights for plants more then the babies I guess. I think it!s more about the calcium synthesis than anything else, so I just try to be sure that they get outside for natural sunlight and exercise. My UVB strip is 30inch desert UVB type of light. Again went for the "desert" (stronger) for the plants that I'm trying to grow in there. For me it's been trial and error, but so far my babies seem to grow well and smooth, so I might doing something right

DutchieAmanda

5 Year Member
Netherlands
My redfoot loves to bask! I have a MVB and a CHE on a thermostat and Pixel will sit directly under the MVB on his basking stone multiple times per day. Maybe it depends on their character?

Pearly

5 Year Member
I use a Reptisun 5.0 strip UVB
If the enclosure is at least 80-82, mine never bask.