Mediterranean Tortoise Getting Started

Tortloverr

Location (City and/or State)
Virginia, USA
So, I'm new to this. i don't have a tortoise just yet, I'm trying to do all my research and have everything set up before so I won't put anymore stress on my future tortoise. I've decided on a Mediterranean (specifically a Russian or Hermann's) and have done a lot of research so I think I've got most of my information but still have a few questions. (There's a picture of my enclosure in the making which measures roughly 50" by 50")

First, when do these tortoises reach adulthood? I can't seem to find anything specific, other than I know a three year old is considered a "juvenile." Also, I know I've read that there is no such thing as an enclosure being too big, does this apply to babies as well as adults? Should I get something smaller for when he/she is small?

Second, I've read a lot of conflicting information on lighting (heating and UVB). I've purchased a few things but I'm not sure if they are necessary or if I will need something more or different. For day time, I bought a 100w ceramic heat emitter with a clip lamp and a 26 watt compact florescent bulb for UVB. For night time, I bought a night red 50w mini halogen bulb for heat. I've read that you don't need a heat lamp for night, but I've also read that babies will need the heat at night. I'm considering getting a mercury vapor bulb, the only thing keeping me away initially is price but I could work with it.