my black geek wont able to poop for three straight days.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
Hi, Im new to tortoise and Im learning how to breed them as a professional. Right now my black greek baby wont able to poop for three days. This is very unusual for my greek because he pooped at least once a day before this happened. I soaked him in a water for three days but no sign of poop. hes less active and it seems like hes bottom part of shell is kind of bigger then before. Im not sure what to do. Im really worried about my tortoise. Please help me guys!

agiletorts

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
San Jose, CA
Sorry to hear about your greek. So he won't poop but has he been eating normally in the past 3 days? Depending on where you live and the temperature, it's normal that your greek is preparing to hibernate, so he won't eat. And he doesn't eat, and he won't poop obviously.

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
agiletorts said:
Sorry to hear about your greek. So he won't poop but has he been eating normally in the past 3 days? Depending on where you live and the temperature, it's normal that your greek is preparing to hibernate, so he won't eat. And he doesn't eat, and he won't poop obviously.

hes eating very well but just not pooping. im very worried.

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
At some point, if your tortoise is eating on a regular basis it will defecate. Could it be possible that it has been doing so but eating it? Does the tortoise have access to drinking water daily and/or is it being watered (soaked) on a regular basis? One good way to encourage it to defecate is to place the tortoise in shallow (knee high) tepid water and allow it to soak and drink at least every other day.

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
hes eating well but also drinks alot at the same time. I usually soak him every 2-3 day and humidity here is getting low like 25....

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!