my russian tortoise won't eat

Arismom

Hi! I'm Mandy. I'm 23 and I have always wanted a tortoise so I finally broke down and got one. Did a bunch of research and set up a tank for her that is a bit small until I move out of here next year but Dadwon't give me anymore space for her. Anyway, everything I read made russian tortoises sound like over eaters. Mine barely eats at all! I offer her various types of leafy greens twice a day and she'll eat a tiny bit most days. She does usually eat all of the apple slice I give her about once a week. I just don't know if I am doing something wrong. :(

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I see that you have been reading. Is the baby hydrated? Water soaks? Is the temperature at least 80 degrees? Remember that they can not digest food very well if their body temp is below 80 degrees. I'm not a Russian expert, but I'm sure someone will soon chime in with ideas for food.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Mandy, and welcome to the Forum!

When a tortoise is moved to a new environment it stresses them. So they hide and don't eat. This can last a couple of weeks. Just keep putting the tortoise in front of the food dish. Every time you walk by, put him by the food. He will eventually come to realize he's in a safe place.

The most common cause for a tortoise to not eat is that he isn't warm enough. Measure the temperature down on the floor of the habitat. Russian tortoises like it a bit cooler than other species, however, they do need a place where they can warm up their inner core to at least 80F degrees.