Mystery Tortie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aretino

5 Year Member
My name is Peter Aretin. I'm a very long time resident of Boulder, Colorado, and I live, hunkered down among the millionaires, in a little, old, slightly run-down house in the center of town, which is a perfect house for me because I am little, old, and slightly run-down.

Since the sun shines nearly every day here in paradise, I do just about everything on my bicycle, which is little and old, a kind of rolling museum of bike parts. It is much better maintained than I am, however. Recently, I was riding in a commercial part of town and saw a tortoise trying to climb the curb of the street. I was surprised, since I haven't seen a tortie or box turtle on the loose in many years, and alarmed, since this was a wilderness of asphalt and concrete. I was very fond of turtles and their ilk as a child, so I felt obliged to take this tortie, which did not look like any of the ones that used to be native to the Southwest, home and try to learn its care and feeding. Perhaps here was a chance to rectify some of the less-than-successful turtle stewardship of my childhood. The tortie proved to be a Greek, about 5 and a half inches long.

I have two very clever and sociable Siamese, a blue point and a lilac point. Fortunately, they show little curiosity about Dinette and do not paw at her. I don't think they like the way she smells. My other pet is Morty, a cactus I found bare-root naked in the middle of a road, but that's another story.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome, Peter!

I'm so glad you've found and joined our forum. I truly enjoyed reading your introduction.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Lots of Greek keepers here. We all love to see pics too.

At some point I'd really love to hear your naked cactus story too. :)

Masin

5 Year Member