New member, and new owner. From Nor-Cal

Status
Not open for further replies.

PEEEETE

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Vacaville, CA
Hello everyone, My name is Pete, and I have a 4 week old Sulcata. This is my first time raising a tortoise from a hatchling, so My main goal here on the forum is to learn as much as possible about keeping my new Tortoise, Pépe healthy, happy, and getting him to grow up as strong and healthy as possible!

Here are a few pictures of him. Thanks for reading, and for having such a great community here.

2011-07-31_17-26-30_68.jpg

2011-08-04_17-51-14_488.jpg

284807_2188488038964_1449976737_2502251_7590894_n.jpg

285465_2188488758982_1449976737_2502254_4600916_n.jpg

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Welcome
he is adorable, I would recommend changing his substrate (rabbit pellets it looks like)

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Welcome....absolutely adorable Pepe.....I would have to second the advice on changing the substrate....the pellets are not to good :D

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Hello and welcome to the forum Pete. I am on board with everyone else that you should change out those pellets for something like cypress mulch, or coco coir.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

PEEEETE

5 Year Member
Vacaville, CA
Thanks guys! Emysmys, I did see that post, and it was very informative. I've since changed his bedding to Coco coir, then was recommended to change from that by my Vet at UC Davis. I guess that tells where abouts I am as well. I live in Vacaville, CA halfway between San Francisco and Sacramento.

Here is my other thread, in case any of you have some input on my bedding conundrum http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-Please-tell-me-if-this-enclosure-is-adequate#axzz1Us6Vaw15[hr]
Also, what is the code that many people have in their signatures with the 3 digit numbers and decimal points?

Yvonne G

Old Timer