dotty

Location (City and/or State)
Somerset uk
Hi all
Newbie here, I have 2 Herman's tortoises called flash and Murph they are 15months old..and we have had them since July. I'm still learning about them and settling them in. My only concern at the moment is flash has lost weight in the last month an actual total of of 10g she is eating and very active but now much smaller them her sister..we feed them weeds, plants, kale, romaine...any advice would be really grateful 🙏
Flash is on the right

Attachments

• 16997960709461586692618964690171.jpg
    16997960709461586692618964690171.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 1

zolasmum

5 Year Member
Welcome from Devon . I have a Hermanns tortoise too - Zola - he is 23 now.
The reason for tortoises kept in pairs often to differ in size is that one is bullying the other - there are usually very subtle signs of this happening. If you can separate them, it might make a big difference - Flash might start to grow again.
I am not an expert, and am not really able to give advice about care and housing, etc, but I'm sure there will be more knowledgable people here soon.
Meanwhile, have a think about the bullying - it can often be disguised as friendship!
Angie

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
They should not be housed together, so if you are separate them ASAP!
Also feed more weeds and plants then kale and romaine. Feed kale and romaine sparingly.
Better store greens are arugula, ridicchio, endive

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Also, how are you housing them? Size of enclosure?
Temps?
Humidity?
All that is involved with them will help us better.

dotty

Somerset uk
They should not be housed together, so if you are separate them ASAP!
Also feed more weeds and plants then kale and romaine. Feed kale and romaine sparingly.
Better store greens are arugula, ridicchio, endive