New to everything

Kris0322

Hey everyone. I'm very new to this Russian tortoise life. We've taken over care for one that is possibly between 7-15 years old. We've been told and I feel like I'm doing everything wrong. The first few days he just hid under his mulch so we bought lights one for heating and then a uvb. He now has changed and very alive but seems to be living under the heating lamp and I'm concerned. He's finally eating and acting normal "ish" but I'm still thinking he hates us. I'm also looking god suggestions for a better habitat for him as keeping this big box thing on my kitchen counter is so not ideal and we have no windows in the how that get direct day sun. Looking for all the best and easy advice I can get as I'm still learning what everything is. The previous owners apparently held him a lot but I've also read, don't hold them a lot. And I've not seen him drink any water yet! This can't be normal or is it? Again, any advice is very appreciated. Sorry for the long first post.

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Newport Coast, CA
Someone smarter will be along to help you with his lights and enclosure but I can say that it is normal for him to hide at first, to "hate" you, and not to be obviously drinking.

And no, don't hold him!

Welcome to the forum; you're in the right place!

M

Maggie Cummings