Newbie Trying to Catch Up

akbecker

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Thornton, CO
I'm new to tortoises, and got a little in over my head, and am quickly back-peddling to do it right.

I have 4 tortoises, and will soon have 4 separate enclosures for each one. I have one male Russian, one female Russian, one Female Greek, and one unknown Leopard.

The Leopard is a juvenile and in an enclosed indoor enclosure - similar to ones posed in this forum by Tom. "Her" name is Cheetah, but I'm not sure she is a she. However, I'm still trying to understand how long she needs to be in the enclosed enclosure. She's just under 4 inches. From what I've read, it sounds like she is ok to go to an outdoor enclosure during the summer, and either use a warming night hide or take her inside. Until I get the night hide built, I'll probably bring her in. Plus, I'm in Colorado - so we have very bi-polar weather, so it will be easier during this transition from Spring to Summer to bring her in and out until temperatures stabilize more. The outdoor enclosure is awesome - I'll get pictures posted. Its 84 sq ft, covered with secure wire and locks. Lots of plants, I use the grazing tortoise mix from CarolinePetSupply.com to plant up the area. Then I'm going to add some squash seeds, hibiscus, and Johnny jump-ups. My neighbors look at me like I'm crazy because I get excited with all the dandelions growing in our rock areas of our yards because I dig them up and re-plant them in the enclosure (we don't treat them with weed killer since I do this).