Opinions wanted - is this pyramiding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnhutch2000

10 Year Member!
Hi people, this is my first post as I'm looking at getting a hermanns but have a friend with one already. Is this Hermanns (named jimmy) showing signs of pyramiding that I've read of in books or is it this just his natural shape. He's very happy and fed on brussels dandelions lettuce and occasionaly on re-hydrated tortoise foods. Opinions Much appreciated. - J
jimmy.jpg

M

Maggie Cummings

I am pretty new to this species, but I would say yes, this is pyramiding. They are normally high domed how the scutes are stacked is pyramiding, but what a beautiful tort anyhow...

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
I have to agree looks like it to me.

S

stells

He is still domed though which is a good thing... better than him being flat... He is a tad bumpy... and in my opinion his diet with be contributing with that... Brussels are a brassica and high in oxalic acid which inhibits the uptake of calcium... Dandelion also contain moderate amounts of oxalic acid... the lettuce... well all mine have lettuce in with their weed diet but it does depend on what type you are feeding as to the nutritional value of it... and the formulated diet... i am not dead against this but have never tried it on any of my Testudo's... more out of fear than anything... but i have been told that Hermanns aren't very forgiving when fed these.

johnhutch2000

10 Year Member!
Thanks for the opinions guys, I'm glad it isn't too bad as Maggie and Stells say. Is there any way to reverse this or allow it to subside to new growth? Also does it have any health implications associated with it? What should I get my mate to feed him to reverse/reduce it.
Sorry for all the questions, I like the little guy so want him to be happy.
Thanks so much.

M

Maggie Cummings