Outdoor enclosure. A first effort...

Fraser

I am new to tortoise keeping. I have tried to do my research, but as you probably all know... It seems to be a minefield of contradictions. I bought 'Naturalistic keeping and breeding of Hermann's tortoises' by Wolfgang Wegehaupt which has proven to be very useful. The following pictures are of my enclosure. It is a bit of a work in progress, please let me know of any suggestions that you may have. I have 2 5yr old Eastern Hermann's. I live in Essex, UK.

1430071968033.jpg 1430071982909.jpg 1430071996216.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Well that looks nice. I see two things that worry me. What are the little white bits in the substrate? And housing them as a pair is just not a good idea. I would separate them or add one or two more females.

Fraser

Thanks for taking a look Tom. The white bits are small stones that once lived in the fishtank (which is now upturned as you can see) rather than throwing the stones out I impulsively chucked them into the tortoise enclosure... Was that a mistake do you think? Regarding housing them together, i have been told this previously, do you think this still applies if they are both females? (I am not certain they are)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I would remove the aquarium gravel. It is likely they will eat those.

Testudo species can be very scrappy. Even females. I would not house them as a pair. One or one male with two or more females is what I recommend.

Fraser

Do I need more plants? I am concerned that they will want more cover.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Looks good to me.
Keep the hide nice and humid.
More plants is your choice, but I expect the fence gives enough shade?
If you do want more cover, maybe a higher shrub or tree.
But generally, really impressive.

Fraser