Overwhelmed by options!

Novarei

Hey all!

I'm brand new here today. : )
My name is Nova. For now I'm located up in Boston.
I've wanted a tortoise for almost my entire life and now finally am in a position to get one!

But now I've been researching and reading forums for months and months, and I'm at a stand-still.

There are so many options!!! I just want to know some assuredly-safe, happy healthy tortoise how-to's for getting started. The basics!

What sort of cheap but healthy enclosure can I use?
Where should I get my substrate and lamp, etc, from?
I'm leaning towards a Russian, where is a good place to get them from online?
What should I expect when it arrives?

etc!

I'm ready to take the plunge but absolutely swimming in decision-making stand-stills that are preventing me from moving forward. There's so much out there!

Rue

Location (City and/or State)
Canada
I'm new to tortoises too! I understand your problem and am interested in what more experienced folk have to say.

Don't cheap out on the enclosure. You can make do for the short-term but if you can't afford a good enclosure, you probably should wait to buy your animal. I'd say the enclosure and important basic supplies are the bulk of the expense of keeping any animal.

I didn't want to fuss looking for cheaper options, so we bought all our supplies from PetSmart and the garden center. If you buy the MV light...buy the lamp stand to go with it. Not worthwhile trying to make do there. Not to mention the potential safety issues of hot lights falling down or burning something.