PLEASE I need some help - ive been up all night

Status
Not open for further replies.

rguillenj

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Waco, TX
Hey there, so my name is Ruben and im a Baylor university student here in Texas. So basically (please dont get too mad at me) im just afraid for my little guy (Koopa - hes a red foot). He eats well, walks around fine but it seems like he keeps getting bumpier, i know its not good, but i try and fight the pyramiding and just want some advice.

Here are pics of him to get me started:
DSC01383.jpg

DSC01381.jpg

DSC01385.jpg

And of his habitat:
DSC01386.jpg

So first thing tomorrow is im going to go and buy my koopa some cypress mulch to help with the humitidty.

This is a rundown of how i take care of him.

-When i get home he walks anywhere in my room, it is clean and he doesnt eat anything bad from it, he gets his exercise (i need to start taking him out more; he gets about 2 days where me and him are out a week - they are for a while usually)

-when im not at home he stays in his enclosure; but as i said most of the time he just walks around the house, like if i leave for food i know hell be fine in my room (he usually goes to his hiding places)

-my house is always at least at 72-75 degrees (some say thats cold, others say its not)

-i feed him at night usually, a bunch of romaine lettuce and the radiccio and carrots

-i have (will not anymore) fed him low fat cat food for his meat supplement, but after tonight i read too many times that this is bad and i WILL NOT ANYMORE (but would like to know if this was the cause)

-the humidifier in the picture is turned on at random, there is no set time i do it.

-the bulbs are basking on the right, and uvb on the left. But only when he eats do i turn it off, i will turn it on more now.

-his shell is NOT soft or anything, he lives happily but i dont want there later to be problems; earlier today we went to the park and he had a great time. got a lot of exercise in.