severe pyramiding/respitory infection questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
Hi all,
I'm new to the Sulcata thread but not tortoises. I take in lots of rescues and just took my first Sulcata in today. Here is the scoop:

She's 4 years old, 8 inches long, weighs about 5 pounds (feels light as a feather), severe pyramiding, respiratory infection (snot and mouth breathing), has been kept totally dry, fed lettuce, no uva/uvb nor sunlight, only light through closed curtains. At this time she's enjoying being outside for the first time. Eating weeds like a horse and spent a good hour sitting in a water basin. She's bright eyed and interested in her surroundings.

My question: her carapace is soft, with force i think I could poke my finger through, that soft. It also sounds really hollow when tapped on. Is this the sound of a severe respiratory infection, skeletal problems or just long term ill health, or just a really low body weight?

And yes, I will be taking her to the vet and providing the best possible care I can. The end goal is health and a new home.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• sulcata female.jpg
    sulcata female.jpg
    121.4 KB · Views: 173

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
She/he is very thin.

If the tortoise has thick mucous coming out of its nose, then yes, there is a respiratory infection going on. But the hollow sound when thumped isn't from the infection. Its because of MBD.

You're doing the best thing possible for that, and that's getting the tortoise out into the sun.

Whatever possesses people to think they can treat a living animal like that? Spend money to buy a pet then don't even research its care? No excuse for it.

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
Thanks for the thoughts. I'm right there with you! How/why do people do that? Drives me crazy. I have to fight yelling at them when I do pickups like these!

emysemys said: