Shello lol Just kidding. But really hi.

Alastel

Location (City and/or State)
LAKEWOOD, WA
I am new to the tortoise world and looking to soak in all the info possible. We have decided to adopt our first shell buddy and we are now preparing and looking for our new family member.

Ray--Opo

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Palm Bay Fl
Welcome! What kind of tort are you looking at?
There is a ton of updated information from very knowledgeable members.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome
You are wise to learn as much as possible before getting your tort - there's more to keeping them than you think!
I was clueless when my tort adopted me but this forum has been a fantastic help with up to date information from very experienced keepers.
When you know which tort you are getting, look for the caresheet in the Species section that will tell you all you need to know about diet, temps, substrate lighting etc. Don't buy anything for pet stores until you have checked here whether it is safe or needed first. They tend to be clueless about care and like to make profit so we could save you a lot of money.
The Enclosures thread will give you some great ideas - size depends on species. A minimum of 4 x 8 feet is recommended for young adults of the smaller species. The bigger the species the bigger the space will be needed. Don't be tempted to get 2 unless you have enough room for 2 separate enclosures - they really don't like sharing!!
The Beginners Mistakes thread will also help you avoid any problems others have had.
So enjoy reading and getting to know your way around the forum then ask as many questions as you like, someone will get back to you as soon as possible.

Alastel

LAKEWOOD, WA
Welcome! What kind of tort are you looking at?
There is a ton of updated information from very knowledgeable members.