Sitting in water dish for hours?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Villy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
SE Mi
Around 11 am I saw my redfooted tortoise climb in his water dish. He was still there when I left at noon. I got home around 1:30 and he was still in it! I moved him, gave him fresh water since his was now dirty, and misted his tank. He ate a couple bites of veggies, then went right back to his water dish! He was in for so long I thought he might be STUCK in it! Should I be worried? I'm new to tortoise care so I don't know if this is excessive or if I'm just being paranoid.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
RE: Sitting is water dish for hours?

You may or may not need to be worried. Let's see if we can figure out why he is doing this, before you get too panicky.

1) What are his temperatures taken right down at his level?

2) Is he under a light or in a really highly lighted tank? Or is he in sunshine?

3) Substrate what is it? Is it moist or...?

4) His humidity level is?

5) You have had him how long? How big is he? Inside or outside?

6) His eating amounts are normal? Activity level normal (except he is staying in the dish)? His eyes and face look normal? No noise like wheezing? Did his stool and urates look normal?

7) Has he had any previous illnesses?

8) Does he look dry? Skin dry looking? Was he soaking often before this sudden all the time soaking?

Let's start with those, okay.

I went back and read your other posts.. You have only had him for two days, so your not going to know his "normal" behavior. :( He is from Petco, which usually means he will be on the dehydrated side. I am jumping to the belief that he was kept like they usually do, no soaking dish, no spraying, no humid hide, and on drier substrate.

So my first thought is he may be simply in serious need of soaking and rehydration. He is eating which is a good sign. Are you seeing any symptoms of him being sick? #6

Villy