Some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bowser-the-Redfoot

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Kurihama, Japan
Hey guys I'm going to be a new owner of a Redfoot Tortoise. I have done alot of researching and I feel like I have some good knowledge about them. But I would love any advise you have for me ... :D

I have made a tortoise table and will eventually post some pics...

I made the table 6 feet by 3 feet, and will fill it in with some top-soil, and some cedar chips... <----- tell me if thats ok...

I will have a UVB/heat lamp and some basking rocks.

Should I have more than just one lamp?

Also should I have a humidifier in it, or just spray a spray bottle?

Thanks for your time :)

Becki

5 Year Member
Albuquerque
I don't have a red foot but I know you should not ever use cedar chips. Someone will belong soon with good advice for you. Congrats on your new addition!

Torty Mom

5 Year Member
Bakersfield, California
Good job doing your research first! Congrats on getting a new family member! I don't have a red foot either, so I am sure someone in the "KNOW" will be along shortly, I did notice a few things. Cedar chips are toxic, so you will want to change that. How about some hides? Do you have any little places for your new friend to hide in? What are your temps? Humidity? They will need to know that, so they can tell you if you need more heat or not. Good luck!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I've seen a couple pictures on the forum here where the redfoot keepers had a misting system or humidifer in the habitat. I guess whatever works well for you! I just use the garden hose, wetting down the substrate every morning and mixing it up with my hand.

Another thing to consider is plants. Lots of plants will help to hold the humidity with the added benefit of giving the tortoise a bit more security, especially if its a very young one.