Something I wrote for fathers day.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
I am not good at getting my feelings out, but I try.

I've been alive longer without my dad, than with him, he would have been 75 this year. I struggle to hold on to memories of him and a few more slip away every year. A few remain etched into my head, mainly goofy little moments like the feel of his chest hair when he would hug me, that look he would give me when he peered over his glasses to see me coming up the driveway after school and his laugh, which I remember clearly while hardly remembering his voice.

We didn't have many recording options, no video cameras, no cell phones capturing every moment, we have a few Polaroids and the lone holder of his voice is a Hallmark card that recorded a message you said into it. He always loved gadgets and passed that on to me. He paid $2,000 to get a Tandy 1,000 with the expanded 256k ram and handed it over to us so we could learn what he couldn't. He got us every latest video game system, from the atari to the super nintendo, with his personal favorite being the Gameboy with Dr Mario, Qix or Tetris.

He also had a habit of mishearing lyrics, I remember him singing "Flesh and Blood of what life used to be" to the opening of China Beach's "Reflections of what life used to be". No matter how many times my mom would correct him, he kept saying what he heard. A proud family tradition I uphold anytime I mishear a lyric.