Split scutes?

Tort93

Location (City and/or State)
South Wales, UK
Hi there, I'm new to this and this is my first post!
I'm a bit concerned about my little tort, I've had Tort around two/three months, s/he is a horsefield and was told by the seller that it is one year old. I've done everything I should, I give her a bath every day, dry her property before I put her back in her house, she has a Mercury vapour lamp on around 12 hours a day, and I try to give her a varied diet as possible (but she only seems to like dandelion leaves and rocket!) I noticed when I got her that her plastron was a bit bendy, but didn't think this was as issue as I read it can take up to 2 years to harden.

However, I've noticed recently that the abdominal and pectoral scute have separated, I.e when gently pushed the abdominal acute moves back and the pectoral does not. She's a picky eater and has never eaten a great deal everyday, but some days she could eat two big bowls, so I can't comment on whether her appetite has changed as it's never been constant! It's not a huge 'split' but as I have never seen it before I thought I should get some advice! Has this happened to anyone else? Any tips to fix it? Any home remedies? Or do I need to take her to a vet?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
A very warm welcome to the forum.

Don't panic: torts take a lot of time to adapt to a: new place, environment, owner, climate, enclosure and so on. But you could post pictures of your tort and its enclosure to get help. You could also read 'beginners' thread as well as different care sheets that are available.

Wishing you as well as your tort the best of luck.

Tort93

South Wales, UK