substrate advice CDT

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittlefootNCera

5 Year Member
Hi friends! quick advice please :D

my torts are fully grown, and nearly 2. they are ofcourse in seperate enclosures. They both go outside daily for atleast a few hrs.
I recently changed my small torts substrate to orchid bark(small pieces, but not ground) I wanted the ground stuff but sent spouse to the store, so I decided to just try it since thats what she got. well little tort LOVES it and burrows all the way under it(in her hide) everyday(never ever burrowed in topsoil)

anyway today I am going to expand big torts indoor enclosure(currently 4x6 going to expand to 4x10/12' by adding a second hexpen) anyway the topsoil is dry and dusty...should i be adding water for a 30+yr old tort, sorry if this is common sense..im new to tort keeping so im still learning all the rules. I was thinking of switching to the orchid bark. otoh I have a pacman frog who lives in ecoearth...so i was considering that too, but it seems like it would be very dusty/messy too. What do you think????

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
You should consider throwing out a bunch of grass seed then it wouldn't be dusty, dirty. ANd it would give the tortoises something to graze on. Your tortoises can live outside full time, with a protected house for inclement weather.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Yard dirt or organic soil would be my choice....and for the adult I would not wet the dirt down....you can every so often give her and the enclosure a misting...but I would not get it "wet" ....:D

LittlefootNCera

5 Year Member